An unofficial site recording the results and player stats of the Tigers.

Match Details:

Saturday 14th September 2002
Northern Premier League Premier Division

Hyde United1Hargreaves (70)

Attendance: 257

Hyde United: Peter Crookes, Paul Ashwell, Leon Smith (Ged Smith), Dominic Crookes, Steve Nolan, Dave Swanick, Lee Madin (Paul McGuire), Lee Evans, Steve Foster, Anthony Hargreaves (Tom Brookes), David Nolan

Burscough: Taylor, Underwood, Bowen, Teale, Taylor, Macauley, Lawless, Molyneux, McHale, Norman, Martindale. Subs: Barlow, Bluck, Sawtell

This was a much improved performance from the Tigers against high flying Burscough, who were yet to concede a goal in the league this season. Well, they did at Ewen Fields. We kept a clean sheet and the fans at last went home happy pinching themselves to confirm it was for real.

A change of formation, Peter Crookes shaving off his beard ( he has conceded 21 with it!), kicking the 'right way' second half and a bollocking from the 'under-fire'Management team probably all contributed, but overall this was a great team effort. There were some excellent individual performances throughout the team and Hyde fully deserved their victory.

The goal came on 70 minutes when Anthony Hargreaves shot home when a cross from Paul Ashwell wasn't cleared. There could have been more goals in the second half as the Tigers swarmed all over the Burscough defence which was ably marshalled by player manager Shaun Teale. Hyde withstood a late rally and the points were safe.

This looked a more comfortable line up for the Tigers with three at the back and Hyde were further encouraged by the debut ( albeit for one minute) of Paul McGuire , who has been out since the start of the season. Let's hope we can now build on this at the International Stadium on Wednesday - never an easy place at the best of times!

[About the Site] [Contact Us]
Site content © Stephen Shaw 2005-2022. All rights reserved. Any redistribution or reproduction of content in any form is strictly prohibited without permission of the site owner.