An unofficial site recording the results and player stats of the Tigers.

Match Details:

Tuesday 18th November 2014
Manchester Premier Cup 2nd Round

Irlam FC1Unknown (80)
Hyde FC1Hughes (87)
(after extra time: Irlam FC win 5-4 on penalties)

Attendance: 85

Irlam FC: Not available

Hyde FC: Christian Thewlis, Josh Brizell, Adam Blakeman, Daniel Mukuna, Alex McQuade, D'Arcy O'Connor, Jordan Bove (Steve Tames), George Riley (Tom Manship), Louis Almond, Adam Thurston, Connor Hughes. Subs not used: David McNiven, Pete Boyle, Lee Gregory.

Hyde were on the receiving end of a cup upset as they went down on penalties to Irlam.
Irlam 1-1 Hyde (Irlam win 5-4 on Penalties)

In a match that will remain in the memory for the wrong reasons, Hyde went down to an Irlam side 4 leagues below them, after Connor Hughes had bailed out the Tigers with just 3 minutes to go, as they fell behind on the 80th minute following a good ball into the box from the wing which was deposited in the back of the net by the oncoming Irlam striker.

Hughes' goal was as a result of a shocking mistake from the Irlam goalkeeper, who left Hughes with the simple task of slotting into an empty net to deny Irlam victory and take the match to a penalty shoot-out.

This was Irlam's second shoot-out of the season, having deposed of Droylsden in the same way during the previous round, and after Thewlis' save made it 4-4 with one penalty to go, Tames stepped up to try and score the winning penalty, but hit the post after sending the keeper the wrong way, sending the shoot-out to sudden death. With Irlam scoring to make it 5-4, the pressure was on Louis Almond to keep Hyde in it, but the keeper guessed right and the Tigers were dumped out of the Manchester Premier Cup, with Irlam moving on to face Mossley in the next round, and leaving the Hyde faithful lost for words.

[About the Site] [Contact Us]
Site content © Stephen Shaw 2005-2022. All rights reserved. Any redistribution or reproduction of content in any form is strictly prohibited without permission of the site owner.