An unofficial site recording the results and player stats of the Tigers.

Match Details:

Saturday 23rd April 2011
Conference North

Workington1May (87)
Hyde FC1Lynch (40)

Attendance: 326

Workington: Aaron Taylor, Andy Langford. Steven Swinglehurst, Kyle May, Lee Andrews, Jonny Blake (Shaun Vipond), Gareth Arnison, Adam Main, Jonny Wright, Andy Murray-Jones (Mark Sloan), Conor Tinnion. Sub not Used:- David Hewson

Hyde FC: Russell Saunders, Dean Stott, Mark Lees, Steve Halford, Scott McNiven, Callum Byrne, Matty Burke, Chris Lynch, Matty Barlow, David McNiven (Jake Simpson), Andrew Smart. Subs not used: Chris Brown, Matt Doughty, Chris Rimmer, Will Burns.

Report by Luke Edwards

Hyde took another point towards safety although it will feel like 2 points dropped after squandering chances to make the game safe and being punished 3 minutes from time by Kyle May.

In a pretty uneventful 1st half in the Cumbrian rain it was Workington who had the first effort of note when Gareth Arnison had a 25 yarder which was held at the 2nd attempt by Russell Saunders. At the other end David Mcniven, making his 1st return since returning to Ewen Fields, was thwarted by an excellent last ditch tackle from Lee Andrews.

5 minutes before half time Hyde got the breakthrough when an excellent cross from Dean Stott was met by an even better diving header from Chris Lynch. It could have been even better right on the stroke of half-time when a dreadful back pass from the home sideís Andy Langford was seized upon by McNiven but he couldnít beat Aaron Taylor.

Workington started the 2nd half the brighter and Johnny Wright missed 2 good chances to level but both times headed over and at the other end David McNiven had a lob parried by Taylor. Hyde brought on Jake Simpson and he immediately got clear on the left hand side and put a cross on a plate for Lynch who, somehow, from 2 yards chested wide.

This miss was to prove costly as May rose to head home Connor Tinnionís pin point free-kick although the Tigers will rue those missed chances ahead of the Tameside derby against Droylsden.

[About the Site] [Contact Us]
Site content © Stephen Shaw 2005-2021. All rights reserved. Any redistribution or reproduction of content in any form is strictly prohibited without permission of the site owner.